News - Polymer Science

Call for Nominations: Journal of Polymer Science Award

The Journal of Polymer Science is proud to announce the call for nominations for the ninth year of its international award. The Journal of Polymer Science Innovation Award recognizes significant research innovation and achievement in a polymer scientist under 40. The award consists of a symposium in association with the Polymeric Materials: Science and Engineering (PMSE) Division of the ACS and a dinner in recognition of the recipient at the ACS Fall meeting, a $5,000 prize, and travel expenses of up to $1,000 to the ACS Fall meeting for the award year.

Please note that we have made some modifications to the submission criteria. Nominations for the prize should consist of a one-page document from the nominator in support of the nominee explaining why the innovative nature of their research deserves recognition and an up-to-date CV from the nominee. The nominee must be 40 years of age or younger at the time the nomination period opens (November 1, 2019). While we will consider all eligible nominees, preference will be given to nominees who have published at least 2 articles with either JPSA or JPSB in the past 2 years (recently accepted and submitted papers included). Award recipients will submit a Review, Highlight, or Perspective article based on the topic of their award lecture, which will be published in an ongoing Virtual Issue of the Journal of Polymer Science.

Please send nominations to before January 31, 2020.

Past awards were given to young scientists exploring exciting new fields in the chemistry and physics of polymer systems.

Past winners:

Christopher Bielawski, Professor of Chemistry at Ulsan National Institute of Science and Technology

Ryan Hayward, Associate Professor of Polymer Science and Engineering at the University of Massachusetts, Amherst

Brent Sumerlin, Professor of Chemistry at the University of Florida

Rachel Segalman, Professor in both Chemical Engineering and Materials at the University of California, Santa Barbara

Cyrille Boyer, Associate Professor of Chemical Engineering at the University of New South Wales

Luis Campos, Associate Professor of Chemistry at Columbia University

Rachel O’Reilly, Head of the School of Chemistry at the University of Birmingham

Patricia Y. W. Dankers, Eindhoven University of Technology

To Top