The 18th Annual Wiley Prize in Biomedical Sciences

by | May 17, 2019

Advanced Science News celebrates the 18th annual Wiley Prize in Biomedical Sciences.

The annual Wiley Prize in Biomedical Sciences has recognized breakthrough research in pure and/or applied life science research since 2002. It celebrates those who demonstrate significant leadership and innovative research concepts or clinical applications.

The 18th Annual Wiley Prize in Biomedical Sciences was jointly awarded to Svante Pääbo and David Reich on April 5, 2019. They were celebrated for sequencing the genomes of ancient humans and their extinct relatives, revealing the origin and ancestry of contemporary humans and our diverse populations.

Svante Pääbo, Ph.D., is a Director at the Max-Planck Institute for Evolutionary Anthropology in Leipzig, Germany.

David Reich, Ph.D., is a Professor in the Department of Genetics at Harvard Medical School, an Associate Member of the Broad Institute of MIT and Harvard, and an Investigator at the Howard Hughes Medical Institute.

The winners delivered an honorary lecture as part of The Rockefeller University Lecture Series. A recording of this event can be viewed here and you can register for free to watch.

Nominations for the 2020 Wiley Prize in Biomedical Sciences will be accepted until September 30, 2019. Click here for more information.

ASN Weekly

Sign up for our weekly newsletter and receive the latest science news.

Related posts: