Materials Research Society Announces 2012 MRS Fellows

by | Mar 19, 2012

2012 MRS Fellows include distinguished researchers from all parts of materials science.
Materials Research Society logo

The Materials Research Society will recognize the following 28 members as Fellows of the Materials Research Society at the 2012 MRS Spring Meeting in San Francisco. This recognition honors MRS members who are notable for their distinguished accomplishments and their outstanding contributions to the advancement of materials research.

  • Doron Aurbach, Bar Ilan University
  • Phaedon Avouris, IBM Research, T. J. Watson Research Center
  • Herbert S. Bennett, National Institute of Standards and Technology
  • David G. Cahill, University of Illinois
  • Yves J. Chabal, University of Texas at Dallas
  • Bruce Dunn, University of California, Los Angeles
  • Peter Fratzl, Max Planck Institute of Colloids and Interfaces
  • William W. Gerberich, University of Minnesota
  • Amit Goyal, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
  • Mark C. Hersam, Northwestern University
  • Alex K.-Y. Jen, University of Washington
  • Kevin S. Jones, University of Florida
  • Lionel C. Kimerling, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Jun Liu, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
  • C. Mathew Mate, Hitachi Global Storage Technologies
  • Amiya K. Mukherjee, University of California, Davis
  • Christopher Murray, University of Pennsylvania
  • John Northrup, PARC, a Xerox company
  • Christopher J. Palmstrøm, University of California, Santa Barbara
  • Sokrates T. Pantelides, Vanderbilt University
  • George M. Pharr, University of Tennessee and Oak Ridge National Laboratory
  • Fan Ren, University of Florida
  • Clément Sanchez, Collège de France, Chimie de la Matière Condensée de Paris, Université Paris VI-CNRS
  • Susan Sinnott, University of Florida
  • Helena Van Swygenhoven, Paul Scherrer, Institute and École Polytechnique de  Lausanne
  • Patricia Thiel, Iowa State University and the Ames Laboratory
  • Richard Vaia, Air Force Research Laboratory
  • C. Grant Willson, University of Texas, Austin

Nominations will soon be accepted for the 2013 MRS Fellows. For information on nomination guidelines and eligibility, visit Deadline for nominations is October 1, 2012.