Journal of Polymer Science Innovation Award – nominations open

by | Dec 17, 2013

Submit your nominations now for the 2014 Journal of Polymer Science innovation award.

The Journal of Polymer Science Innovation Award was established in 2012 to celebrate significant research innovation and achievement in a polymer scientist under 40. The Journal is again proud to announce the call for nominations for the third year of its international award. The award consists of a symposium in association with the Polymeric Materials: Science and Engineering (PMSE) Division of the ACS and a dinner in recognition of the recipient at the ACS Fall meeting, a $5000 prize, and travel expenses of up to $1000 to the ACS Fall meeting for the award year.

Nominations for the prize should consist of a one-page document from the nominator in support of the nominee, explaining why the innovative nature of their research deserves recognition, and an up-to-date CV from the nominee. Please send nominations to [email protected] or [email protected] before January 24th, 2014.

The past two awards were given to young scientists exploring exciting new fields in the chemistry and physics of polymer systems. In 2012, Christopher Bielawski, a full Professor of Chemistry at the University of Texas at Austin, received the inaugural award. Chris established the research field of reversible, conjugated polymers with his work on difunctional N-heterocyclic carbenes (NHCs), pioneered the use of graphene as a catalyst during polymerization, and forged new avenues of research in the emerging area of mechanochemistry. His award symposium at the 2012 ACS Fall meeting comprised a stellar lineup of speakers, including Jeffrey Moore, Venkat Ganesan, Todd Emrick, Ludwik Leibler, Rachel O’Reilly, Lynn Loo, Michael Hickner, and Robert Grubbs.

Year two saw some instabilities…most notably those of soft polymer interfaces. Ryan Hayward, an Associate Professor of Polymer Science and Engineering at the University of Massachusetts, Amherst, was given the award at the 2013 ACS Fall meeting for his insights into shape instabilities of hydrogel sheets and for his contributions in the area of non‐equilibrium assemblies of polymers and nanoparticles. Representing the breadth of his research were speakers including Ed Kramer, Darrin Pochan, Thomas Russell, Stephen Craig, Chinedum Osuji, and Arthi Jayaraman.

Let the 2014 nominations begin!

ASN Weekly

Sign up for our weekly newsletter and receive the latest science news.

Related posts:

Engineering Reports: A New Broad Scope Open Access Journal

Engineering Reports: A New Broad Scope Open Access Journal

We are thrilled to announce the launch of Engineering Reports, a new Open Access journal dedicated to all aspects of engineering and computer science. We undoubtedly live in one of the fastest evolving times, with scientific and technological advances permeating our...

Thermochemotherapy, Helical Hydrogels, and More

Thermochemotherapy, Helical Hydrogels, and More

Since 2012, Advanced Healthcare Materials has been bringing you the latest breakthroughs in biomedical materials science with a strong focus on improving human health, and it will continue to do so in 2019. We therefore have launched virtual issues on five hot topics...

Advances in Polymer Crystallization

Advances in Polymer Crystallization

Polymer Crystallization is the first international journal solely devoted to polymer crystallization research, providing a new platform to serve both the scientific and engineering communities.