Conference report: 2nd ERC MIOMIM Meeting 2015, Grenoble

by | Apr 23, 2015

A report from the 2nd ERC BIOMIM meeting, which ran from March the 11th - 13th 2015 at MINATEC in Grenoble, France.

MLutolf-TalkThe 2nd ERC BIOMIM meeting ran from March the 11th – 13th 2015 at MINATEC in Grenoble, France. The topic of the workshop was “Natural and biomimetic materials: from biophysical studies to biomedical applications”. It aimed to bring together researchers working on multidisciplinary topics, at the interface of materials science, microtechnologies, cell biology and biochemistry.

The meeting consisted of 15 invited lectures on interdisciplinary topics by researchers from prestigious European and American research institutes and universities in France, Germany, Switzerland, Sweden, and the USA. Eight young researchers (PhD students and post-doctoral researchers) were given the opportunity to present their work as a short oral talk. Finally, two poster sessions gathered 88 participants and 25 posters and appeared alongside the 8th NAMICEB (NAno and MIcro systems for CEll Biology) workshop of the Nanoscience foundation.

This workshop provided an opportunity to exchange on the latest advances in different fields such as

  • engineered materials and delivery systems for regenerative medicine and biosensing,
  • biomimetic membranes for model studies on virus invasion or cellular coats,
  • biophysical studies at the nanometer and micrometer scale of cell/surface interactions
  • bone regeneration and ultrastructure characterization.

All these complimentary aspects are important for designing the new generation of architecture and bioactive materials and to elaborate platforms for in vitro diagnosis.

Keynote speakers 

Martial Balland, Liphy, University of Grenoble-Alpes, France

Marta Bally, Chalmers University, Göteborg, Sweden

Ada Cavalcanti-Adam, Univ of Heidelberg, and Max Planck Institute for Intelligent Systems, Stuttgart, Germany

Catherine Coirault, Institute of Myology, Paris, France
Andres Garcia, Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, USA

Sebastien Lecommandoux, Professor at University of Bordeaux, France
Hugues Lortat-Jacob, Institute of Structural Biochemistry, Grenoble, France

Matthias Lutolf, EPFL, Institute of Bioengineering, Lausanne, Switzerland
Françoise Peyrin, CREATIS (Insa Lyon) and ESRF, France

Shahragim Tajbakhsh, Institute Pasteur, Paris, France
Ralf Richter, CIC BiomaGUNE, San Sebastian, Spain – Chair of Excellence 2011 of the Nanoscience foundation (2012-2014)
Amy Wagoner Johnson, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, USA – Chair of Excellence 2011 of the Nanoscience foundation (2014-2017)

Roisin Owens, Ecole Supérieure des Mines de Gardanne, France

Susan Daniel, Cornell University, Ithaca, New York, USA

ASN Weekly

Sign up for our weekly newsletter and receive the latest science news.

Related posts: